It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Share on Google+
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on StumbleUpon
Print this page

Australian Ten Shilling Banknotes

Australian Ten Shilling Banknotes
The Goulburn Weir
The Goulburn Weir was built between 1887 and early 1891 across the Goulburn River near Nagambie, Victoria, Australia. It was the first major diversion structure built for irrigation development in Australia. The weir also forms Lake Nagambie where rowing regattas and water skiing tournaments are held. The weir is 209 metres long by about 16 metres high. The structure also contained one of the first hydro-electric turbines in the southern hemisphere, used to supply power for lifting and lighting.Its design was considered very advanced for its time, so much so that it featured on the back of half sovereign and ten shilling (10/-) notes from 1913 to 1933.
Australian Ten Shilling Banknotes
A distinctive feature of currency notes designed in the 1930’s was the use of artwork by Frank Manley based on bas-relief panels originally designed by artist Paul Raphael Montford. These panels represented various sectors of the Australian economic life :

Australian Ten Shilling Banknotes
Old Parliament House
Old Parliament House was home to Australia’s Federal Parliament from 1927 to 1988 and is now a nationally listed heritage building in Parkes, Canberra. After World War I the Federal Capital Advisory Committee was established to prepare Canberra to be the seat of government, including the construction of a Parliament House. The committee decided that it would be best to erect a “provisional” building, to serve for a predicted 50 years until a new, “permanent” House could be built. In the event, Old Parliament House was Parliament’s home for 61 years.